Would Renaming it Vandelay Industries help?

toubin-Promo-Variety banerAs the result of Tea Party influence, the current charter on an eighty-year old institution that has supported more than $567 billion of U.S. exports may not be renewed come September. The Export-Import Bank of the United States, usually reauthorized on a bipartisan bases, is on the chopping block, caught in the cross-hairs of those who view it as ineffective, usurping the role of the private sector, interfering with the free play of market forces, engaging in crony capitalism, and picking winners and losers in the market. Listen in as Between the Synapse brings together a former member of the Export-Import Bank Board and a D.C- based reporter for the Dallas Morning News covering the controversy to provide insight and as well as an understanding of how this dispute represents the current climate of our nation’s politics.

Live Thursday, July 10 @ 1 pm ET, noon CT, 11 am MT and 10 am PT
Catch the podcast for this or any previous show

Renberg-Dan-MZ-180x260Dan Renberg served both the Clinton and Bush Administrations as one of five full-time board members of the  authorizing more than $20 billion in US export financing in sectors such as energy, transportation, telecommunications, advanced medical equipment, and agriculture for buyers throughout the world. Before President Clinton appointment Dan a Republican seat on the Board, he ran Renberg Strategies, LLC, a Washington, DC based consulting and lobbying firm that represented both private and public sector clients. A graduate of Princeton University and the University Of Virginia School Of Law, Dan began his political career as the legislative director and deputy chief of staff to US Senator Arlen Specter (R-PA). At present, Renberg is a partner in the Washington, DC office of Arent Fox and the serves as co-leader of the law firm’s government relations practice. He also practices in the firm’s international trade and transactional groups.

LindenbergerMichael Lindenberger is the business correspondent in Washington, D.C. for The Dallas Morning News, where he previously worked as Arlington City Hall reporter and, for five years, as transportation writer. Lindenberger spent the 2012-13 academic year at Stanford University as a John S. Knight Journalism Fellow. Prior to that he worked as a bureau chief for The Courier-Journal in Louisville and as a contributor to TIME, for whom he remains a contract national legal affairs writer. He graduated from the Louis D. Brandeis School of Law in 2006. He can be followed on Twitter @Lindenberger.

Share
Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.