BtS Radio: The Separation of Race & Justice – Ferguson and Beyond

toubin-Promo-Variety banerThe shooting of Michael Brown ignited not only protests and conflict in Ferguson, Missouri but a national discussion on the separation of race from justice. What the facts ultimately reveal, while important, won’t alter the view of many African Americans that law enforcement provides more concern than security. How did we get here and what do we do now. Joining Between the Synapse to discuss these issues is past chair of the Texas Legislative Black Caucus and community leader Rep. Garnet Coleman. Don’t miss this episode! 

1 PM ET   noon CT   11 am MT   10 am PT              or check out the podcast

State Rep. Garnet Coleman (D-TX)

colemanSince 1991, Garnet Coleman has continuously represented Houston’s 147th District in the Texas House of Representatives, earning the reputation as a leader in the areas of health care, economic development and education. He currently serves as the senior ranking member of the Public Health Committee as well as Chairman of the County Affairs Committee. Twice named to Texas Monthly’s Ten Best Legislators List, Representative Coleman also serves as a member and past chair of the Texas Legislative Black Caucus. Raised in Houston, Coleman attended Howard University in Washington, D.C. and in 1990 graduated cum laude from the University of St. Thomas.  He also completed the prestigious Harvard University Senior Executive Program for State and Local Government and serves as president and CEO of Apartments for America, Inc., a non-profit affordable housing corporation.
Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *